.net is okay?
I thought of a very good name for my online business. I checked whois but .com is already taken. I checked the actual site and it's just a parking page. I really want the name I came up with and I want to get the .net one. Do you think this will be bad for my business? It's just a micro business btw.
I think if you have the name and it is a good name, then you´ll probably get traffic! the thing is that maybe the other sites will get it first, becaue people usually don´t use .net unless they know already and are looking for the site specifically. I am not an expert, but I am a net surfer. That happened to a TV channel I always check out. When I typed .com it was lost. So I went to google asking for the name, and found that the name was .net but it was listed 6th on the first page. I wish you the best!
I'm attached to the name. I don't know why. I can't get it off my head. I might make a bad decision...but what the heck?

Thanks so much berlinlife06.
.net is fine.
You can see many results with .net domains in the top of search engines.
If a person chooses a name and really wants to use it, even if .com or some other suffix is taken, I think they should go for it. How your page gets visited and how often is really going to depend on how you go about promoting. Check out the other domain suffixes that might be taken and see what they actually are. If the business in those domains is not similar to what yours is, then chances are their keywords are going to be different anyway. If they are similar, then use your advertising wiz brain to promote and be suggestive of the right products and quality to the most effective ends. Also if they are similar, make sure that when you promote your site on business cards, newspaper ads, telephone book ads, that you do it very clearly indicating what your web address is. Print it large enough and in a visible way so that people have less chance of getting confused.