wine: how much to order?
Hi guys

I have a "date" with a girl on sunday and will be taking her out to a restaurant. I'll have to order wine because she's just that kind of person. But I am somewhat new to wine. Do you know how much wine I should order?

Is a bottle too much for two people?

Thanks

Zach
Hi Zach!
I hope you like the girl so you can actually enjoy the date! Depending on the restaurant, they will sell you wine by the glass, so you can order just one glass for each. Here in Europe that is very common. Also, there are some restaurants that have available the wine but in "half bottle" versions, so the quantity is enough for 2 people and still a little bit more than just 2 glasses. If you have chosen already the restaurant, call them up and ask them about their wine options. There's nothing wrong to be prepared for that! Also, ask them if you can bring your own bottle of wine, in case you can find something special in that half bottle size... of course, you should do all that before hand! The perfect date requires a lot of production, and you'll be thought of as the perfect gentleman!
Also, check out what the recomendations of the Somelier are for the food you'll have... What kind of restaurants are you taking her to? (For the first time here I feel like a little bit of an expert!) Good luck with all of that!
Thanks so much berlinlife!

I am actually in Paris at the moment, so I will probably go to a french resaurant. I havent decided yet on which because I do not know the place very well. Otherwise there is an Indian restaurant, but I think that she may not like Indian food.

They have things here called "pichet", which I have been told is ok for two people, but I am not sure if it is for 1 or for 2! It might be the equivilent of a half-bottle, although I am not sure.

Also, when you order a "half-bottle", do you ask for a general "half bottle of bordeaux" for instance, or do you ask for a specific wine like "a half bottle of chateau something"?