Domain Social  about domain social  contact domain social     join domain social  domain social forum    domain social store   
FAQ  |   MEMBERS LIST  |   SEARCH  |   TODAY'S POSTS  |   MARK FORUM READ  |  

Welcome to Domain Social, a domain forum where people sell domains and buy domains,
talk about domain name registration and help others when buying and selling domains.

Want full access? Click here to register

What you get:
Join in on Discussions on domains
Buy domains in the market place
Sell domains in the market place

and its free! Register now!
Reply
 
Trackback Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 07-17-2006, 04:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
zach zach is offline
Administrator
 
zach's Avatar
 

Posts: 872
Join Date: Jun 2006
Number of Domains: hundreds
Trader Rating: (3)
Send a message via MSN to zach
Default Sedo Trademark complaint

I have just received the following email from Sedo:

Quote:

We are writing to inform you that Sedo has received notice through Microsoft's Typo-Patrol of potential trademark infringement regarding the registration and use of the following domain names in conjunction with Sedo services. Microsoft created the MSN/Strider URL Tracer with Typo-Patrol to search for and record typo variations of domain names. A report containing such typo-domains based in Sedo's marketplace was then submitted to Sedo.com. Your domain was included in Microsoft's Typo-Patrol report. Accordingly, Sedo has no choice but to do the following at this time:



- Blocked from our domain marketplace

- Excluded from our parking program



Sedo takes great pains to strike a balance between the legitimate rights of domain owners and third party intellectual property owners and require verification of legal complaints before taking any action against a domain listed for sale or parked with Sedo.


If you have any questions regarding this message, or if you have a legal right to occupy this letter combination, then please contact the Sedo legal department at

legal@sedo.com.


Sincerely,


Your Sedo Team


I am not sure what the connection is between Sedo and MS. Has anyone else every received an email like this?

Zach
__________________
Sig: Before I post on Domain Social, I read the rules!
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-17-2006, 08:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
llegent llegent is offline
Senior Member
 
llegent's Avatar
 

Posts: 199
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Online
Number of Domains: 40+
Trader Rating: (0)
Default

emm...you must have catch a good domain name! Well, I have no such "luck" to receive similiar email from SEDO yet. I do have some domains parked with them at the moment.

Speaking of the possible SEDO connection with MS, emm...it sparks of some thoughts in me, do they actually have some dealing that we might not know of?? Well, they are 2 big giant online, could it be that MS has some funding in SEDO or share in it?? Or they have some special trade agreement going on?

Anyone has more information to share?

By the way, has MS or ICANN also send you any email to claim the domain in concern?
  Reply With Quote

Remove these by Registering

Old 07-19-2006, 12:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
triumph triumph is offline
Senior Member
 
triumph's Avatar
 

Posts: 374
Join Date: Jul 2006
Number of Domains: 65
Trader Rating: (0)
Default

Sounds like something similar to a DMCA notice. I suspect places like sedo respect copyright complaints in order to keep themselves out of court.

What was the name of the domain this typo-patrol got you for?
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-13-2006, 07:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
andreww38 andreww38 is offline
Super Moderator
 
andreww38's Avatar
 

Posts: 170
Join Date: Jul 2006
Number of Domains:
Trader Rating: (0)
Default

yeah, sounds intriguing.

i'm always curious abt how much traffic a gogle.com or yaho.com would draw..
__________________
Andrew Wee
Blogging and Affiliate Marketing specialist

Make $2,000 a WEEK affiliate income or your money back

BLOG Offer:
Exclusive: $99 Internet Marketing giveaway including Robert Allen book
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-17-2006, 12:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
kokotai kokotai is offline
Member
 
kokotai's Avatar
 

Posts: 39
Join Date: Aug 2006
Number of Domains:
Trader Rating: (0)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by triumph
Sounds like something similar to a DMCA notice. I suspect places like sedo respect copyright complaints in order to keep themselves out of court.

What was the name of the domain this typo-patrol got you for?


It is curious and triumph is right it does sound like a DMCA notice.
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-17-2006, 11:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Slashmire Slashmire is offline
Member
 
Slashmire's Avatar
 

Posts: 92
Join Date: Aug 2006
Number of Domains:
Trader Rating: (0)
Default

Well, was that a legitimate email (the source) or are some people trying to pull your leg? Either cases, I don't know the connection.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-18-2006, 08:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Hoosierhunter Hoosierhunter is offline
Member
 
Hoosierhunter's Avatar
 

Posts: 94
Join Date: Sep 2006
Number of Domains:
Trader Rating: (0)
Default

Emails these days seem so legit, but not all of them are. Actually I was thinking about this issue and if it was authentic, you must have struck a nerve somewhere.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-18-2006, 09:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
scalamedia scalamedia is offline
Member
 
scalamedia's Avatar
 

Posts: 98
Join Date: Nov 2006
Number of Domains:
Trader Rating: (0)
Default

I imagine gogle.com and yaho.com and variants there of get some serious traffic if everyone types like I do on a bad day.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-19-2006, 03:12 AM   #9 (permalink)
LyricB LyricB is offline
Member
 
LyricB's Avatar
 

Posts: 77
Join Date: Aug 2006
Number of Domains:
Trader Rating: (0)
Default

Yeah, I know I have accidentally typed in misspelled versions of google before, but I have always caught it before it went through.
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-17-2007, 01:01 AM   #10 (permalink)
aquariancore aquariancore is offline
Senior Member
 
aquariancore's Avatar
 

Posts: 413
Join Date: Feb 2007
Number of Domains:
Trader Rating: (0)
Default

So what was the outcome after the notice?
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 02:55 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.6.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.0.0 RC3 © 2006, Crawlability, Inc.