GoDaddy Domain Registrations
hi everyone, i'm new to this domain registering thing and i wanted to know what you guys think about GoDaddy.com because i heard there pretty good plus they also had one of the WWE divas do a really good ad for them.

please let me know what you guys think.

thanks

Jerry
Hi Jerry

Welcome to Domain Social! Smile

Everyone has their own personal preference as to which domain registrar is 'best'. In many cases, this is just related to the site design and 'control panel'. GoDaddy is a very successful domain registrar and you should be pretty safe with them.

There are some negative aspects. Unless you plan to call them on the phone (and I have heard both positive and negative stories about their phone support), you probably won't get an support question or problem resolved by email. I have sent countless emails asking for support from everything from domains to hosting (a service which you should avoid at GoDaddy for everything but very small sites), and I have never received a response.

Also, there are so questions about the company ethics. Sure.. they are 'cheap', and they are big, but this dosen't mean that they don't have their problems. There has been a lot of discussion in the domain community as to the morals of the company. They seem to make their money where ever they can, and always aim to maximize their profits, even at the stake of a few clients. For instance, when you 'back order' a domain at GoDaddy, you pay about $18 in advance. However, IF Godaddy catches it, the domain does not get passed on to you (as it should, at least from a common sense perspective), but instead goes to a publicly displayed auction, where anyone can bid on the domain (which is supposed to be yours). No matter how many months you've been waiting for the domain to drop, in the end they will give it to the highest bidder.