Hyphen domain?
As I said many times, I am no expert on this, but I only have one site in mind that uses the hyphen, and when I looked for it, it came up really within the firts 10 searches in Google, so I don´t think it affects too much when the name has a hyphen. But again, I was looking for something very specific that was the name of a newspaper in South America, so it was fairly easy to find, while I think that in the case of more generic names might be a problem.
Ladybecklyn Wrote:I personally, like the hyphenated domains. I like the look of them and the break up of the words. I have one hyphenated domain and 6 nonhyphenated. I never even thought how a search engine looks at it...hmmm.

I totally agree. I myself like the hyphen but when searching for a randomn site I will admit to being more likely to just type the whole thing straight and hoping a website appears.
I want to buy a domain for my favorite basketball player. The .com and .net are already taken. I'm thinking of buying a hyphenated domain instead of buying the .org and .info. Do you think the hyphenated domains is a better idea?

By the way, I'm not buying the domain for revenue. I just want to try my website building skills and I want to get a search engine rank.
agent_orange Wrote:I want to buy a domain for my favorite basketball player. The .com and .net are already taken. I'm thinking of buying a hyphenated domain instead of buying the .org and .info. Do you think the hyphenated domains is a better idea?

By the way, I'm not buying the domain for revenue. I just want to try my website building skills and I want to get a search engine rank.

As far as domain value goes, hyphens lower value.

The top 3 extensions, in order from most valuable to least valuable are: .com, .net, .org... and the .info comes in somewhere 4th-8th place.

So, I would probably go for the .org instead of hyphenating the .com.